Course at a glance

The Accredited Level 2 Religious Studies Diploma offers students the opportunity to explore a wide range of religious, philosophical and ethical issues. The course offervhances to demonstrate students’ knowledge and understanding of these issues, and to express their own ideas and opinions when evaluating the views of others.

Study of the course will enable students to acquire knowledge and develop understanding of religious beliefs, values and traditions, through the study of one or more of the six major world religions. Whilst also allowing students to acquire knowledge and develop understanding of key religious ideas, which are not specific to any one religion and of non-religious beliefs and values. Upon completion of the course, students will be able to identify, investigate and respond to fundamental questions of life raised by religion and human experience, including questions about the meaning and purpose of life.

The course is a year in length and divided into 2 units of study. At the end of each unit there is an associated TMA (Tutor Marked Assessment) which students are required to complete and submit. The course is formally assessed by an average grade being attained from the 2 submitted Assessments


Accredited Level 2 Religious Studies Diploma Entry Requirements

Basic English reading and writing skills, as full tutor support is given.

All students must be 16 years of age or above.

Study Hours

Approximately 160 hours.

Accredited Level 2 Religious Studies Diploma Course Duration

1 Year.


You can enrol on the course at any time.

Awarding Body

AccordAI/Accord Certified

Quality Licence Scheme

Assessment Method

Two tutor marked assignments; one assignment after each unit.

Accredited Level 2 Religious Studies Diploma Course Content

Accredited Level 2 Religious Studies Diploma Unit 1: The Universe, Reality, and Relationships

Module 1: The universe, human beings and their destiny

  • The universe and the place of human beings in it
  • Human nature and the human condition
  • Selfishness, greed, ignorance and sin
  • Free will, determinism and predestination
  • Death and life after death
 Module 2: Ultimate reality and the meaning of life
  • Ultimate reality
  • The meaning of life
  • Belief, doubt and unbelief
  • The problem of evil and suffering
  • Sanctity of life, euthanasia and abortion

Module 3: Relationships, families and children

  • Human relationships
  • Marriage and partnership
  • Divorce and remarriage
  • Family structures and responsibilities
  • Childlessness and celibacy

Accredited Level 2 Religious Studies Diploma Unit 2: Rights and the Religious Community

Module 4: Rights, equality and responsibilities

  • Human rights
  • Equal rights and equal opportunities
  • The multi-ethnic society and racial harmony
  • The multi-faith society and interfaith relationships
  • Relationships between rich and poor.

Module 5: The Religious Community

  • Religious texts and sources of authority
  • Founders and leaders
  • Rules for living
  • Worship and celebration
  • Places of worship and pilgrimage


Accredited Level 2 Religious Studies Diploma can be used in preparation for progressing to higher level study in relevant religious subjects (for example Accredited Level 3 Diplomas) or as a vehicle for career development or to fulfil entry requirements to education courses.